top of page


Zeta Phi Beta Sorority was established for the purposes of promoting the cause of education by encouraging the highest standards of scholarship through scientific, literary, cultural and educational programs; promoting charitable projects on college campuses and within the community; fostering the spirit of sisterly love, and promoting the idea of Finer Womanhood.

The sisterhood was founded and nurtured by five young women on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. on January 16, 1920.  These exceptional ladies; Arizona Cleaver, Pearl A. Neal, Myrtle Tyler, Viola Tyler, and Fannie Pettie, lovingly referred to as our “five pearls”,  chartered a course that continues flowing, growing, and flourishing steadily.

The founders of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority believed that sorority elitism and socializing should not overshadow the real mission for progressive organizations – to address societal mores, ills, prejudices, poverty, and health concerns of the day.

For more information concerning our organization on a broad level, we encourage you to visit our international website at


Zeta Phi Beta was the FIRST Black Greek Letter Sorority to:

  • Have youth and adult auxiliary groups

  • Organize a collegiate chapter in Texas                                            (Theta Chapter, Wiley College)

  • Have all operations organized at a national headquarters (1734 New Hampshire Ave. N.W. – Washington D.C. 20009)

  • Charter a chapter in Africa


Zeta Phi Beta is the FIRST & ONLY Black-Greek Letter Sorority to be constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

bottom of page